UK Monster Owners Club Forum » .: Technical :. » Service/Dealer & Insurance » How long should an MOT take?

Old 09-06-2007, 05:43 PM   #1
bod

How long should an MOT take?

My 1st MOT 04 plate bike so wasn't expecting any problems,but was amazed how quickly it was done!

Took no longer than 15 mins if that?

Lights and horn checked,then headlamp aiming,quick check on the rolling road,then lifted up on the sidestand (with the help of another opperative) to check wheel bearings etc for play then it was wheeled off to be parked outside.

Ok I work in the motor industry and this guy runs a well know shop,and I sort of know him through a friend of a friend of a friend so I no the score.

But no mention of 'not for road use cans' and the rear reflector I had taken off was'nt mentioned also.

Ok this is'nt a moan at the garage as im glad it passed without having to mess about refitting the standard cans etc...

But was just wondering how long should it have taken as I felt the bike wasn't checked over properly,yeh I do my own maintaniance so know my bike and would proberbly know of any issues...was he just quick because it was a newish bike,maybe he would of spent more time on a 10 year old bike,also no emmisions test(are these part of a bike MOT)?

How long did your last MOT take?
Old 09-06-2007, 05:48 PM   #2
SazzaG

Mine took about 10 minutes!

It really depends on where you take it. There's no emissions test, the cans thing is very subjective and is up to the tester, but I'm sure they tested all the things that needed testing.

I have an Italian Flag reflector, and the tester just covered up the green and white bit with some tape, and said to me "just take it off when you get home". My cans are stamped "not for road use", but the heel guards conveniently cover that up!

However, where Rog last took his S4, it took about 45 minutes, and they failed him on his cans....

Just find a good tester, and stick with them!
Old 09-06-2007, 05:52 PM   #3
Gadget
wtf...