UK Monster Owners Club Forum » .: General :. » Random Chat » M1000 Crippling me.

Old 19-07-2024, 08:22 PM   #1
Nasher

Bike: M900
M1000 Crippling me.

I’ve been skirting around this for probably 2 years now, and it’s getting worse not better.

I’m finding it really hard to ride my M1000, so much so that it’s not getting used much.

I like to think I’m above average fit, healthy and strong for my age, late 50s.
I go to the gym(possibly too much) and do Cardio(Cross Trainer), plus weights etc. I walk, hike, and am always on the go doing something.
But I do carry some old sports and accident injuries, which is probably the route cause.
Waterskiing and playing Rugby leave their mark.

A couple of weeks ago I did @100miles in a morning on my 999, obviously a proper sports bike that should not be comfy, but it’s physically so much bigger than the monster that I’m just not as cramped up on it.
Obviously I knew I’d done some miles on it afterwards, but it was OK after a couple of minutes.

I did @30 Miles on my Monster the other day and could hardly walk afterwards.

The problem on the Monster is my legs and hips.
I’ve tried some dodgy brackets to drop the pegs an inch to see how it was, and I’ve sat on an inch thick sheet of high density foam to see if raising the seat would help.
I’ve also tried some higher bars without improvement.
It appears to be all about the relationship between the saddle and the footpegs, plus probably the width of the bike.
After only a very short time on the bike I start to get cramps in my Thighs, and my hips feel like they are dislocating.
If I stop at a junction and have to put a foot down, about 30% of the time when I lift the foot back onto the peg I’m instantly in a huge amount of pain with cramp in that Thigh and Hip which is really difficult to shift on the go, so I often have to stop at the side of the road.
This simply does not happen on my 999.

I was also recently lucky enough to test ride a 1200 Multistrada for about an hour.