UK Monster Owners Club Forum » .: Warm Up Area :. » A nice place for new members to say hello » Saying Hello, also wanting a Monster

Old 28-04-2011, 12:59 PM   #1
Davidg1230

Saying Hello, also wanting a Monster

First post, I've been reading on here for a while but thought I'd finally introduce myself and search for a little advice?

Currently living in SW London (Battersea) and finally after getting my full licence earlier this year I'm in the market for getting a Monster. I've loved the marque for many years and vowed I'd be an owner one day. I'm about to turn 43 and its taken me 25 years to get around to be in the position to get my licence and buy a decent motorbike. I've been riding scooters for the past 4 years as I've been commuting from Battersea to East London (Stratford Olympic Park) for the past 2 years and really need something that I can enjoy whilst riding about 22 miles a day.

I test rode a 696 and a Triumph Street Triple R last weekend and even though the Triumph was bigger,faster etc. the 696 stole my heart. It lived up to everything I thought it would be and is firmly on the top of my shopping list. However, we have just sold our house in Battersea and I can't justify spend £6k on a new one, so it's down to around £2k to £2.5K for an older one, either 620 or 695, around 05/06 if I can. If I had a my first choice, an S2R in red/White would be ideal, but my budget probably won't allow that.

Anyway, my question is, should I really hang out for a newer 695 or would a clean 620 do the job aswell?
Old 28-04-2011, 03:48 PM   #2
alan c
alan (blockhead) c

Bike: M1100
Hi David and welcome to the club.

my first ducati was a M600 and it got me hooked, a great fun bike to start on. The 620/695would both be fine, not sure what you would get for your money, keep an eye out on here as bikes come up all the time.

Hope to see you out and about soon

Cheers

alan
alan c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2011, 03:53 PM   #3
desmo

Hi.