UK Monster Owners Club Forum » .: Warm Up Area :. » A nice place for new members to say hello » Saying Hello

Old 06-08-2009, 09:27 PM   #1
tomscotland

Saying Hello

Just joined having bought a black 600 '95 Monster. Hope I 've not made yet another mistake ! It looks stunning but I don't know how they're supposed to sound ? Is mine ok if it's sounds a bit "thrashy" on start up ?
I'm new to biking and this is my 2nd bike. I don't know much about them really. Grateful for any comments ?
Tom
Old 06-08-2009, 09:53 PM   #2
Nickj
Too much time on my hands member

Bike: S2r
Good oil every 3K, belts at 12K or 2years, lots of love and attention.
They all have a bit of a loud engine, its all those big bits of metal slopping around, LOL you ought to hear the air cooled clutches!!
It isn't asnywhere near as fast a a Jap 600/4 but what you have is usable and you have some nice roads up there to use it all. Enjoy
Old 06-08-2009, 10:05 PM   #3
BluprintZ

Welcome mate!

Don't know what you mean by thrashy, mine sounds like two skeletons sh@ggin' in a biscuit tin...not that i've ever experienced such a thing but you get my point i'm sure?
They can be an acquired taste to some riders, although you're just starting out on the sometime rocky road of bikerdom, so you'll be more likely to adapt to a Ducati, than if you'd been hooning around on an R1 or similar before.
Because they are a V twin, or "L" twin as the engine configuration is referred to, they have a character of their own, so you'll either end up loving it forever and ever, or you'll hate Ducati's forevermore, it won't take long for you to find out, one way or t'other.

G : )
Old 06-08-2009, 10:39 PM   #4
Panther

Quote:
Originally Posted by BluprintZ View Post
Welcome mate!

Don't know what you mean by thrashy, mine sounds like two skeletons sh@ggin' in a biscuit tin...not that i've ever experienced such a thing but you get my point i'm sure?