UK Monster Owners Club Forum .: Technical :. Electrics » '02 S4 Immobiliser and ECU light question

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13-09-2019, 06:53 PM   #1
Darren69
Too much time on my hands member
 
Darren69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Sutton In Ashfield
Bike: S4
Posts: 4,489
'02 S4 Immobiliser and ECU light question

After key ignition on and clock sweep I'm sometimes getting a single flash from the immobiliser light and then a solid yellow light. I had a list of these somewhere but can't find them. Is this just a simple key misread or something else? Doesn't happen every time.

I'm also sometimes getting the ECU light on after clock sweep and sometimes the above Imob error light too but sometimes just the ECU light and then sometimes its Ok.

Can anyone please help? I seem to have misplaced my Diagnostic leads so I can't see what the error light is being caused by.
__________________
Roast Beef Monster!

Termignoni and Bucci - Italian for pipe and slippers!
Darren69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2019, 07:26 PM   #2
Luddite
Registered User
 
Luddite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Southampton
Bike: M1100evo
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren69 View Post
After key ignition on and clock sweep I'm sometimes getting a single flash from the immobiliser light and then a solid yellow light. I had a list of these somewhere but can't find them.
Is this of any use? It tells you what the various led flashes mean.

http://www.avantiraceparts.co.uk/page.php?id=29
Luddite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2019, 09:11 PM   #3
Darren69
Too much time on my hands member
 
Darren69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Sutton In Ashfield
Bike: S4
Posts: 4,489
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luddite View Post
Is this of any use? It tells you what the various led flashes mean.

http://www.avantiraceparts.co.uk/page.php?id=29
Yes, cheers Luddite. that helps because I recall multiple flashes for a key misread and so I think that the 1 flash is a fault with the clock to ECU connection. I noticed that the clocks were a little bit loose and on further inspection the rubber isolastic has split again on one side so there is more movement than I would like. This is the second time of replacing it and the bike has done nothing but stand for 12 months so why it would split is a mystery but could be the cause if the connection is loose on the back of the clocks. Will pull it apart and clean connections, fingers crossed. Thanks again.
__________________
Roast Beef Monster!

Termignoni and Bucci - Italian for pipe and slippers!
Darren69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2020, 05:36 PM   #4
Darren69
Too much time on my hands member
 
Darren69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Sutton In Ashfield
Bike: S4
Posts: 4,489
I thought I'd give a quick update because I think I have found the root cause and sorted this issue.

Talk about the straw that broke the camel's back. It was an issue I was aware of but ironically didn't think was significant. Just one of those things that I would get around to eventually:-

upload pix

__________________
Roast Beef Monster!

Termignoni and Bucci - Italian for pipe and slippers!
Darren69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2020, 04:53 AM   #5
Darren69
Too much time on my hands member
 
Darren69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Sutton In Ashfield
Bike: S4
Posts: 4,489
There is corrosion since the rubber cap had perished and fallen off a long while ago. The connector was more U shaped than O shaped, so was a bit loose which caused the light to flicker occasionally.

I wonder if the right connector was fitted originally because the replacement was more round and fitted nicely.

__________________
Roast Beef Monster!

Termignoni and Bucci - Italian for pipe and slippers!
Darren69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2020, 08:43 AM   #6
Mr Gazza
Lord of the Rings
 
Mr Gazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Norwich
Bike: M900sie
Posts: 4,211
Glad you hounded the problem out Darren. Looks like that lead is ripe for replacement, but what is it? I thought it was an HT lead in the close up, but it looks lighter duty zoomed out and with that connector plug on the other end... Neutral light or oil pressure switch perhaps?

My main concern is why you are using Norton engine mounts for your speedo??

[QUOTE=Darren69;568968] ...on further inspection the rubber isolastic has split again... /QUOTE]
__________________
Mr Gazza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2020, 11:06 AM   #7
Darren69
Too much time on my hands member
 
Darren69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Sutton In Ashfield
Bike: S4
Posts: 4,489
Yea, its this one:-

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/DUCATI-MO...72.m2749.l2649

I knew it needed replacing but put it off because the cost of the new part included the switch (which I didn't need). I was going to make one and had bought the super seal plug, just never got around to it. In the end I though 10 euro was ok price if I didn't have to make one. If I'd used my noodle I would have realised that it might be the problem because of the light flickering.

The real test will be when we get a decent weekend and I can get the bike outside and start it up.

Yea, I couldn't think of the proper word, It's Silentblock Damper part no 70010301B
__________________
Roast Beef Monster!

Termignoni and Bucci - Italian for pipe and slippers!
Darren69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:25 PM.

vBulletin Skins by vBmode.com. Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.