UK Monster Owners Club Forum » .: Technical :. » Electrics » Ignition goes clickty-click but no Brum Brum... Help!

Old 31-10-2008, 09:52 AM   #1
Bueller77

Ignition goes clickty-click but no Brum Brum... Help!

Hi all,

I'm new to bikes and so have little to no technical know how. I've trawled through the forum but am not sure what may or may not apply to me so thought I'd post asking for help anyway (in other words sorry in advance if this has been answered many times before).

Bike has been running fine and was last out on it this Monday. Gave it a clean Monday night, AC50 spray down and then haven't been back to her until today.

Key in ignition, turn, dash lights all on fine, sound of whirling pumps fine, hit ignition switch... Clickty clickty click and a flashing fuel pump light as it clicks. Bike is fully juiced up as I filled her up on way home Monday.

Checked lights and they came on full beans no problems.

I've had to leave her at home and come into work, had no time to call recovery or try anything else yet. Thought I'd get suggestions from the forum before getting even more upset as today was a perfect day for blat on the way home :-(

Help!

B
Old 31-10-2008, 10:49 AM   #2
yantheman
Bronze Member

Bike: M620sie
hi, it could be your battery. I had that last year when I first had my 620. The light all lit up but didn't have enough power to turn the starter motor but just click-click.

I took the battery out and charge it up overnight and the bike started in the first click of the starter. Left it for a day of two and the same thing happened again.. it turned out the battery was knackered. Bought a new battery and it was all fine.
yantheman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2008, 11:12 AM   #3
Bueller77